Name

E-Mail

REGISTER FOR A $20 COUPON!

Supplement Mania

Your #1 Source for Body Building Supplement Information

Food Supplement, Bodybuilding, Multivitamins

Whey Protein and Food Allergies
Are Whey Protein Supplements Gluten Free?


I’ve had several people ask me if it’s safe for someone with Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy to take a whey protein supplement.


First of all, I am not a medical professional and it should be understood that I do not offer medical advice. I also have not directly tested these products, I can only rely on what the manufacturer claims and lists on their products.


However, I can say that whey protein itself does not contain gluten. Most whey protein supplements thus do not have any sort of wheat in them, and are safe for those with wheat allergies. You should still check the labels carefully to be sure.


If you are lactose intolerant you should be especially careful, as some whey products do also contain lactose as a natural sweetener, since both lactose and whey come from milk. But the whey itself does not contain lactose. Lactose is listed separately on the label.


As for whey protein, I personally recommend Designer Whey Natural Whey Protein. Designer Whey does have a statement on their site indicating all of their protein supplements are gluten free.


Many whey protein supplements do contain lecithin, which is derived from soy. Even though the whey itself is derived from milk, those with a soy allergy are likely to react to the lecithin (which is there to help the product mix better). Those allergic to soy protein will react to the soy lecithin in many whey protein products, even though there is no soy protein listed.


As with all food and food supplement products, there is always a possibility for contamination. You should check with the manufacturer if you are highly sensitive to wheat, milk, or soy before trying a specific product.

Copyright © 2008 Mims Innovations, Inc. All Rights Reserved